Doppelganger

Before I launched 99 Red Balloons, I conducted extensive research to make sure that no other business had the same name. After all, what’s a business name if it can be confused with the competition, right? So I searched high and low, and couldn’t find anything. I was relieved because that name had really grown on me.

Then, in August 2010, 99 Red Balloons was live. I was ecstatic and eager to start working. Once in a while, I’d still run a quick search. And one day….BAM! there it was: 99 Red Balloons. Also an event planning company, but specializing in children parties. My throat tightened. My heart sank. How can this be? I clicked on the “About Us” section to find out where they were: South Africa! In an instant, my mind went from shock to happy surprise. How cool that someone else had the same idea as me, all the way across the globe!

Since then, I check up on my doppelganger once in a while. See what they’ve been up to, but I never thought our paths would ever cross. Until this morning.

I checked my Facebook page and noticed a Spa became a new fan. All right, that’s fun. Then, looking closer, I noticed they’d posted something on my timeline. I clicked and read that I am participating in a wedding show sponsored by the spa. Really? Hm. I clicked some more and found the words “South Africa” on the spa’s web site. Now I know what my doppelganger is doing on July 21 & 22.

How small this world has become.

Leave a Reply

